New Jersey Bill to Provide Window Stickers for Vehicles Exempt From Inspection Approved by Committee


New Jersey Bill to Provide Window Stickers for Vehicles Exempt From Inspection Approved by Committee

Legislation (S.B. 1108) to require the motor vehicle commission to issue exempt certificates for motor vehicles not required to be inspected was approved by the Senate Transportation Committee on a 5 – 0 vote.  The bill will next be considered by the Budget and Appropriations Committee.  Under current law, motorcycles, registered historic motor vehicles, motor vehicles designated as collector vehicles, and certain diesel-powered passenger motor vehicles built before the 1997 model year are exempt from emissions inspections and equipment inspections. 

We Urge You to Contact All Members of the Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee (Contact Info Below) Immediately To Request Their Support for S.B. 1108

  • As exempt motor vehicles are not subject to inspection, no certificates of approval (windshield “stickers”) are issued for them to display.  On occasion, operators of these exempt vehicles are stopped by law enforcement because there is no certificate of approval affixed to their windshield.  As a result, the owners of these vehicles must carry all the documentation needed to prove their exempt status.  S.B. 1108 would eliminate that problem by requiring the motor vehicle commission to issue a certificate of exemption for display on these vehicles.

DON’T DELAY!  Please contact members of the New Jersey Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee immediately to request their support of S.B. 1108.    

Please e-mail a copy of your letter to Steve McDonald at  Also, please forward this Alert to your fellow car enthusiasts.  Urge them to join the SAN and help defend the hobby! Thank you for your assistance. 

New Jersey Senate Budget and Appropriations Committee

To e-mail all Committee members, copy and paste the email address block below:;;;;;;;;;;;;

Senator Paul Sarlo (Chair)
Phone: (201) 804-8118

Senator Brian Stack (Vice-Chair)
Phone: (201) 721-5263

Senator Peter Barnes
Phone: (732) 548-1406

Senator Jennifer Beck
Phone: (732) 933-1591

Senator Anthony Bucco
Phone: (973) 627-9700

Senator Sandra Cunningham
Phone: (201) 451-5100

Senator Linda Greenstein
Phone: (609) 395-9911

Senator Kevin O’Toole
Phone: (973) 237-1360

Senator Steven Oroho
Phone: (973) 300-0200

Senator Nellie Pou
Phone: (973) 247-1555

Senator M. Teresa Ruiz
Phone: (973) 484-1000

Senator Samuel Thompson
Phone: (732) 607-7580

Senator Jeff Van Drew
Phone: (609) 465-0700


Back to Breaking News: 2015 Archives