Ohio No Longer Requires Front License Plate

Congratulations, Ohio! A provision of the 2019 Ohio Transportation budget bill (H.B. 62) which allowed for the display of only a single, rear-mounted license plate, goes into effect today, July 1, 2020. The state previously required both a front and rear plate. This new law is expected to save the state between $1.2 and $1.4 million per year.

SAN-opposed legislation (S.B. 179) to return to the two plate requirement in the state failed to pass before the new provision went into effect. However, this bill could still be passed this year. If you have not already done so already, please voice your opposition to the bill with lawmakers on the SAN website. Help spread the word by sharing the link with residents in the state and encourage them to follow suit by contacting the committee right away.

Please share this victory with others. Thank you for your continued support!


Dear SEMA Action Network (SAN): Recent world events have impacted us all. Rest assured, the SAN will continue to be the voice of auto enthusiasts in state capitols and Washington, DC.  With your help, we’ve already achieved several triumphs this year—thank you!  Meantime, SEMA is working to safeguard our hobby so we can continue to pursue our passion.  For updates, news and resources, please visit SEMA.org/coronavirus.  Ignited We Stand!